Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 28
Tuesday, June 16, 2009

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 9:01 a.m. this day, in Room 213, Wellington Building, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: James Bezan, Bernard Bigras, Peter Braid, Blaine Calkins, Linda Duncan, David J. McGuinty, Christian Ouellet, Francis Scarpaleggia, Justin Trudeau, Mark Warawa, Jeff Watson and Stephen Woodworth.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: As individuals: James Barker, Professor, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Waterloo; D. George Dixon, Vice-President, University Research and Professor of Biology, University of Waterloo.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 10, 2009, the Committee resumed its study of the oil sands and Canada's water resources.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

On motion of Mark Warawa, it was agreed, — That the Committee call Bruce Hyer, MP, who introduced Bill C-311, An Act to ensure Canada assumes its responsibilities in preventing dangerous climate change, into the House, to appear as a witness on Thursday, June 18, 2009, to speak on the Bill and to answer two rounds of questions; and that the Committee then proceed to consider its future business.


At 10:59 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Normand Radford
Clerk of the Committee

2009/07/02 10:26 a.m.