Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 20
Tuesday, May 12, 2009

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 8:14 a.m. this day, in the Quartz Ballroom, Matrix Hotel, Edmonton, Alberta, the Vice-Chair, Francis Scarpaleggia, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Peter Braid, Blaine Calkins, Linda Duncan, Christian Ouellet, Francis Scarpaleggia, Justin Trudeau, Mark Warawa and Jeff Watson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: As individuals: Murray R. Gray, Professor, University of Alberta; Selma E. Guigard, Associate Professor, Environmental Engineering Program, University of Alberta; David W. Schindler, Professor of Ecology, University of Alberta; Mary Griffiths; William F. Donahue, Independent Researcher, Limology and Biogeochemistry; François Paulette, Fort Fitzgerald First Nation; Sam Gargan, Dehcho First Nation. Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation: Allan Adam, Chief. Mikisew Cree First Nation: Roxanne Marcel, Chief; Georges Poitras, Consultation Coordinator, Government and Industry Relations. Assembly of First Nations: Bill Erasmus, Regional Chief, Northwest Territories. Fort McKay First Nation: Jim Boucher, Chief. Fond du Lac First Nation: Albert Mercredi, Chief. Prince Albert Grand Council: Diane McDonald, Coordinator. Government of the Northwest Territories: Hon. Michael Miltenberger, Deputy Premier and Minister of Environment and Natural Resources. Department of Natural Resources: Hassan Hamza, Director General, Devon Research Center; Kim Kasperski, Manager, Water Management. Gradek Energy Inc.: Thomas Gradek, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 10, 2009, the Committee resumed its study of the oil sands and Canada's water resources.

At 8:00 a.m., Murray R. Gray and Selma E. Guigard made statements and answered questions.


At 9:00 a.m., David W. Schindler, Mary Griffiths and William F. Donahue made statements and answered questions.


At 11:05 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:14 a.m., the sitting resumed.


At 11:14 a.m., Allan Adam, Roxanne Marcel, George Poitras, Bill Erasmus and Jim Boucher made statements and answered questions.


At 12:17 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 1:04 p.m., Albert Mercredi, Diane McDonald, François Paulette and Sam Gargan made statements and answered questions.


At 2:15 p.m., Hon. J. Michael Miltenberger made a statement and answered questions.


At 3:19 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:31 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 3:31 p.m., Hassan Hamza, Kim Kasperski and Thomas Gradek made statements and answered questions.


At 5:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Normand Radford
Clerk of the Committee

2010/01/13 5:06 p.m.