Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 10
Thursday, March 12, 2009

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 9:02 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: James Bezan, Bernard Bigras, Peter Braid, Blaine Calkins, Linda Duncan, David J. McGuinty, Francis Scarpaleggia, Justin Trudeau, Mark Warawa, Jeff Watson and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Guy André for Christian Ouellet.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of the Environment: Cynthia Wright, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Stewardship Branch; Albin Tremblay, Chief Enforcement Officer; Fred J. Wrona, Acting Director General, Water Science and Technology. Department of Health: John Cooper, Director, Water, Air and Climate Change Bureau, Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch; Roy Kwiatkowski, Director, Environmental Health Research Division, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch; Wadieh R. Yacoub, Medical Officer, Director, Health Protection, First Nations and Inuit Health, Alberta Region.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 10, 2009, the Committee commenced its study of the Oil Sands and Canada's Water Resources.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:59 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Normand Radford
Clerk of the Committee

2009/03/27 4:10 p.m.