Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 17
Thursday, March 13, 2008

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities met at 11:00 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Mervin Tweed, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Don H. Bell, Robert Carrier, Ed Fast, Brian Jean, Mario Laframboise, John Maloney, Bev Shipley, Mervin Tweed, Hon. Joseph Volpe, Jeff Watson and Paul Zed.


Acting Members present: Peter Julian for Brian Masse.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: John Christopher, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Transport: Hon. Douglas Grinslade Lewis, Chair, Advisory Panel for the Railway Safety Act Review; Tim Meisner, Executive Director, Railway Safety Act Review Secretariat; Sheila K. Smith, Director, Planning & Liaison, Railway Safety Act Review Secretariat.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 22, 2007, the Committee resumed its study on rail safety in Canada.

The Honorable Douglas Grinslade Lewis made a statement and, with Tim Meisner, answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee continue its study on Rail Safety in Canada for its meetings of April 1, 3 and 8, and that officials from the Transport Department, Canadian Pacific, Canadian National and labour unions be invited to appear.


At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Maxime Ricard
Clerk of the Committee

2008/04/14 3:05 p.m.