Skip to main content Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
2nd Session, 39th Parliament   2e Session, 39e législature

Standing Committee on Health   Comité permanent de la santé
Meeting No. 28 Séance no 28
Thursday, May 8, 2008 Le jeudi 8 mai 2008
11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. 11 heures à 13 heures
Room 237-C, Centre Block   Pièce 237-C, édifice du Centre
(613-943-1496)   (613-943-1496)

Orders of the Day   Ordre du jour
1. Committee Business
1. Travaux du Comité
• Notice of motion from the Hon. Robert Thibault • Avis de motion de l'hon. Robert Thibault

2. Briefing on Natural Health Products
2. Séance d'information sur les produits de santé naturels
First Panel Premier groupe de témoins
Witnesses Témoins
Department of Health ministère de la Santé
Philip Waddington, Director General
Natural Health Products Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch
 Philip Waddington, directeur général
Direction des produits de santé naturels, Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments
Direct Sellers Association of Canada Association de ventes directes du Canada
Ross Creber, President Ross Creber, président
Mark Priemer, President
MMP Enterprises Ltd.
 Mark Priemer, président
MMP Enterprises Ltd.
The Apothecary-Consultant L'Apothicaire-Consultant
Jean-Yves Dionne, Pharmacist Jean-Yves Dionne, pharmacien
University of Montreal Université de Montréal
Pierre Haddad, Professor
Department of Pharmacology
 Pierre Haddad, professeur titulaire
Département de pharmacologie
Canadian Cosmetic, Toiletry and Fragrance Association Association canadienne des cosmétiques, produits de toilette et parfums
Darren Praznik, President and Chief Executive Officer Darren Praznik, président et chef de la direction
Kathleen Ljubisic, Director
Regulatory and Scientific Affairs
 Kathleen Ljubisic, directrice
Affaires réglementaires et scientifiques
Option consommateurs Option consommateurs
Geneviève Reed, Head
Research and Representation Department
 Geneviève Reed, responsable
Service de recherche et de représentation
Anu Bose, Head
Ottawa Office
 Anu Bose, responsable
Bureau d'Ottawa
Second Panel Deuxième groupe de témoins
Witnesses Témoins
Canadian Health Food Association Association canadienne des aliments de santé
Penelope Marrett, President and Chief Executive Officer Penelope Marrett, présidente et chef de la direction
Anne Wilkie, Vice-President
Head of Regulatory Affairs
 Anne Wilkie, vice-présidente
Chef des affaires réglementaires
Truehope Nutritional Support Ltd. Truehope Nutritional Support Ltd.
Ian Stewart, Director
Regulatory Affairs
 Ian Stewart, directeur
Affaires réglementaires
Canadian Coalition for Health Freedom Coalition canadienne pour la liberté de choix en santé
Trueman Tuck, Coordinator Trueman Tuck, coordonnateur
Natural Health Products Protection Association Natural Health Products Protection Association
Peter Helgason, Vice-President Peter Helgason, vice-président
Canadian Men in Nursing Group Canadian Men in Nursing Group
James D'Astolfo, President and Founder James D'Astolfo, président et fondateur
Branden Shepika, Chapter Director Branden Shepika, directeur de section
La greffière du Comité
Carmen DePape ((613) 995-4108)
Clerk of the Committee
2008/05/08 9:47 a.m.   2008/05/08 9 h 47