Skip to main content Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 22
Thursday, April 10, 2008

The Standing Committee on Health met at 11:10 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Vice-Chair, Lui Temelkovski, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Patrick Brown, Patricia Davidson, Steven John Fletcher, Luc Malo, Lui Temelkovski, Hon. Robert Thibault, David Tilson and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Rob Clarke for Joy Smith, Hon. John Godfrey for Susan Kadis, David J. McGuinty for Hon. Carolyn Bennett and Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac for Christiane Gagnon.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Nancy Miller Chenier, Analyst; Sonya Norris, Analyst.


Witnesses: Office of the Auditor General of Canada: Sheila Fraser, Auditor General of Canada; Neil Maxwell, Assistant Auditor General. Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada: Jennifer Stoddart, Privacy Commissioner; Patricia Kosseim, General Counsel. Canada Health Infoway: Richard Alvarez, President and Chief Executive Officer; Mike Sheridan, Chief Operating Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, December 11, 2007, the Committee resumed its study on Post-Market Surveillance of Pharmaceutical Products, Prescription and Non-Prescription.

Sheila Fraser, Jennifer Stoddart and Richard Alvarez made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 12:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Carmen DePape
Clerk of the Committee

2008-04-11 1:25 p.m.