Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 37
Tuesday, May 27, 2008

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met at 1:40 p.m. this day, in the Port Hardy Civic Centre, Port Hardy, British Columbia, the Chair, Fabian Manning, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Raynald Blais, Hon. Gerry Byrne, Blaine Calkins, Randy Kamp, Yvon Lévesque, Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Fabian Manning, Bill Matthews, Scott Simms and Peter Stoffer.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst.


Witnesses: Regional District of Mount Waddington: Rod Sherrell, Chair. District of Port Hardy: Rick Davidge, Chief Administrative Officer; John Tidbury, Councillor. 'Namgis First Nation: William T. Cranmer, Chief. Winter Harbour Harbour Authority: Phil Wainwright, Chair. Malcolm Island Lions Harbour Authority: Lorraine Williams, Harbour Manager. Quatsino Residents' Organization: Gwen Hansen, Secretary-Treasurer. Keltic Seafoods: Jack Masterman, Chief Financial Officer. Port Hardy Harbour Authority: Mary-Ann Smith, Harbour Manager; Pat McPhee, Harbour Manager. Town of Port McNeill: Albert Sweet, Administrator-Treasurer; Gerry Furney, Mayor. Quatsino First Nation: David Schmidt, Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 14, 2007, the Committee resumed its study of the Operation and Maintenance of Small Craft Harbours.

David Schmidt, William T. Cranmer, Rick Davidge and Rod Sherrell made statements and, with John Tidbury and Pat McPhee, answered questions.


At 2:50 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Phil Wainwright, Lorraine Williams, Gwen Hansen, Jack Masterman, Pat McPhee and Gerry Furney made statements and, with Albert Sweet and Mary-Ann Smith, answered questions.


At 4:08 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julia Lockhart
Clerk of the Committee

2008/06/03 3:00 p.m.