Skip to main content Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 34
Tuesday, May 13, 2008

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met at 9:45 a.m. this day, in the Waring House, Picton, Ontario, the Chair, Fabian Manning, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Raynald Blais, Hon. Gerry Byrne, Blaine Calkins, Randy Kamp, Yvon Lévesque, Fabian Manning, Scott Simms and Peter Stoffer.


Acting Members present: Daryl Kramp for Gerald Keddy.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst.


Witnesses: City of Belleville: Neil R. Ellis, Mayor; Steve Hyndman, Chief Administrative Officer; Marjorie Buck, Director of Recreation and Community Services; Rick Kester, Director, Engineering & Public Works. County of Prince Edward: Barry Braun, Commissioner of Recreation, Parks and Culture; Leo Finnegan, Mayor. Eastern Ontario Commercial Fishers' Committee: Roxy Lancaster; Albert Vancott.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 14, 2007, the Committee resumed its study of the Operation and Maintenance of Small Craft Harbours.

Neil R. Ellis, Steve Hyndmand and Marjorie Buck made statements and, with Rick Kester, answered questions.


At 11:04 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:15 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Leo Finnegan and Barry Braun made statements and answered questions.


At 12:15 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:20 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Roxy Francis Lancaster made a statement and, with Albert Vancott, answered questions.


At 12:47 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julia Lockhart
Clerk of the Committee

2008/05/14 1:20 p.m.