Skip to main content Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 32
Tuesday, May 6, 2008

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met in a televised session at 8:04 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Fabian Manning, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mike Allen, Raynald Blais, Gerry Byrne, Blaine Calkins, Randy Kamp, Gerald Keddy, Yvon Lévesque, Lawrence MacAulay, Fabian Manning, Bill Matthews, Scott Simms and Peter Stoffer.


Associate Members present: Catherine Bell.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: François Côté, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Loyola Hearn, P.C., M.P., Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.


Witnesses: Department of Fisheries and Oceans: Claire Dansereau, Associate Deputy Minister; George Da Pont, Commissioner, Canadian Coast Guard; Cal Hegge, Assistant Deputy Minister, Human Resources and Corporate Services; David Bevan, Assistant Deputy Minister, Fisheries and Aquaculture Management.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee resumed consideration of the Main Estimates 2008-2009: Votes 1, 5 and 10 under FISHERIES AND OCEANS referred to the Committee on Thursday, February 28, 2008.

Hon. Loyola Hearn made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 9:59 a.m., the sitting was suspended.


At 10:03 a.m., the Committee resumed sitting in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 10:13 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julia Lockhart
Clerk of the Committee

2008/06/04 9:05 a.m.