Skip to main content
Start of content

FOPO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 29
Friday, April 18, 2008

The Standing Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met at 2:31 p.m. this day, in the Salle municipale de Saint-Majorique, Saint-Marjorique, Québec, the Chair, Fabian Manning, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Raynald Blais, Blaine Calkins, Yvon Lévesque, Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Fabian Manning, Bill Matthews, Scott Simms and Peter Stoffer.


Associate Members present: Luc Harvey.


Witnesses: Regroupement des mariculteurs du Québec: Stéphane Morissette, Vice-President. Quai de Saint-Georges-de-Malbaie: Anita Collin, Spokeswoman. Administration portuaire de L'Anse-à-Valleau: Carmelle Mathurin. Administration portuaire de Rivière-au-Renard : Gilles Tapp, President; Jacques Dufresne. Ville de Gaspé: François Roussy, Mayor. Regional Municipality County of Haute-Gaspésie: Majella Émond, Prefect. Regional Municipality County of Rocher-Percé: Claude Cyr, Warden. Ville de Percé: Georges Mamelonet, Mayor. Municipality of Grande-Vallée: Gabriel Minville, Mayor, Town Council; Ghislaine Bouthillette, General manager. Conférence régionale des élu(e)s Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine: Olivier Demers; Gilbert Scantland, General Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 14, 2007, the Committee resumed its study of the Operation and Maintenance of Small Craft Harbours.

The Committee observed a minute of silence in memory of Bruno Bourque, Carl Aucoin, Gilles Leblanc and Marc-André Déraspe, seal hunters from Îles-de-la-Madeleine.


Stéphane Morissette, Anita Collin, Carmelle Mathurin and Jacques Dufresne made statements and answered questions.


At 3:58 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:12 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Gilbert Scantland and Gabriel Minville made statements and, with Olivier Demers, François Roussy, Majella Émond, Claude Cyr, Georges Mamelonet and Ghislaine Bouthillette, answered questions.


At 5:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Julia Lockhart
Clerk of the Committee

2008/06/04 9:04 a.m.