Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 9
Monday, December 3, 2007

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:09 a.m. this day, in the OPR Ballroom & Foyer, Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort and Spa, Victoria, British Columbia, the Vice-Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rick Dykstra, Massimo Pacetti and Thierry St-Cyr.


Acting Members present: Sukh Dhaliwal for Hon. John McKay and Denise Savoie for Thomas J. Mulcair.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal Analyst; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. House of Commons: Catherine Cuerrier, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Arrivals Duty Free Coalition: Susan Stiene, Member. As an individual: Randall Garrison, Instructor, Criminology, Kwantlen University College. Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians: Albert Ruel, National Equality Director. Alma Mater Society of the University of British Columbia: Jeff Friedrich, President. BC Association of Magazine Publishers: Anna Tores, Executive Director. BC Sustainable Energy Association: Tom Hackney, Vice-President, Policy. GrowthWorks Capital Ltd.: Murray Munro, Senior Vice-President, National Sales, Marketing and Government Relations. As an individual: Gordon E. MacKinnon. Capital Unitarian Universalist Congregation: Jackie MacDonald, Member, Social Responsibility Committee. First Unitarian Church of Victoria: Jim Hackler, Chair, Justice Subcommittee of the Social Responsibility Committee. Greater Victoria Chamber of Commerce: Shannon Renault, Manager, Policy Development and Communications. Heritage BC: Rick Goodacre, Executive Director. Housing Affordability Partnership: James Mitchell, Executive Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:42 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:51 a.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 11:59 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2008/02/06 11:25 a.m.