Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 8
Thursday, November 29, 2007

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Rob Merrifield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Paul Crête, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Ted Menzies, Rob Merrifield, Massimo Pacetti, Thierry St-Cyr, Hon. Garth Turner and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett for Hon. John McKay, Pat Martin for Thomas J. Mulcair and Hon. Karen Redman for Hon. John McKay.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal Analyst. House of Commons: Catherine Cuerrier, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Nunavut Economic Forum: Glenn Cousins, Executive Director. Toronto Financial Services Alliance: Janet Ecker, President. Canada's Research-Based Pharmaceutical Companies (Rx & D): Mark Ferdinand, Vice-President, Policy, Research, Regulatory and Scientific Affairs. Investment Funds Institute of Canada: Jamie Golombek, Chair, Taxation Working Group. Nunavut Association of Municipalities: Lynda Gunn, Chief Executive Officer; Elisapee Sheutiapik, President. Canadian School Boards Association: Rick Johnson, Vice-President. Conseil national des cycles supérieurs: Frédéric Lalande, President. Business Tax Reform Coalition: Roger L. Larson, President, Canadian Fertilizer Institute. Northern Territories Federation of Labour - Iqaluit: Geoff Ryan, Regional Vice-President, Qikiqtaaluk Region. Pembina Institute: Amy Taylor, Program Director. Green Budget Coalition: Andrew Van Iterson, Program Manager. World Vision Canada: Elly Vandenberg, Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 4:57 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:05 p.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 6:16 p.m., the sitting was suspended.


At 6:19 p.m., the Committee proceeded to sit in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That a Subcommittee for Bill C-28 be created; that it be composed of 12 members, 5 from the Government party, 4 from the Liberal party, 2 from the Bloc Québécois and 1 from the NDP, to be named by the Chair after the usual consultations with the whips; that a member from the government party be the Chair of the Subcommittee, and that the subcommittee be granted all of the powers of the Committee pursuant to Standing Order 108(1) except the power to report directly to the House.


It was agreed, — That the Committee hear from the Canadian Olympic Committee while in Montreal during its pre-budget consultation hearings.


At 6:44 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2008/02/06 11:18 a.m.