Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 6
Tuesday, November 27, 2007

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Rob Merrifield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Paul Crête, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Ted Menzies, Rob Merrifield, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, Thierry St-Cyr, Hon. Garth Turner and Mike Wallace.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. House of Commons: Catherine Cuerrier, Committee Clerk.


Witnesses: Association nationale des éditeurs de livres: Pierre Le François, General Director. Association of Fundraising Professionals: Susan Mullin, Vice-President of Development. Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada: Claire M. Morris, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Association of Income Funds: Margaret Lefebvre, Executive Director. Canadian Booksellers Association: Chris Tabor, Manager, Queen's University Bookstore. Canadian Construction Association: Michael Atkinson, President. Canadian Council for International Cooperation: Gerry Barr, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Dental Association: Darryl R. Smith, President. Canadian Federation of Students: Amanda Aziz, National Chairperson. Canadian Trucking Alliance: David Bradley, Chief Executive Officer. Certified General Accountants Association of Canada: Bob Harvey, Member, Tax and Fiscal Policy Committee; Carole Presseault, Vice-President, Government and Regulatory Affairs. David Suzuki Foundation: Pierre Sadik, Senior Policy Advisor, Sustainability Specialist. Insurance Bureau of Canada: Mark Yakabuski, President and Chief Executive Officer. SR & ED Tax Credit Coalition: Nathalie Bourque, Vice-President, Global Communications, CAE Inc.; Peter Look, Vice-President, Tax, Nortel.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 5:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:06 p.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 6:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2008/02/06 11:17 a.m.