Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 24
Wednesday, February 13, 2008

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Rob Merrifield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Paul Crête, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Jean-Yves Laforest, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Ted Menzies, Rob Merrifield, Thomas J. Mulcair, Massimo Pacetti, Hon. Garth Turner and Mike Wallace.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal Analyst; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Library of Parliament: William R. Young, Parliamentary Librarian; Allan Darling, Senior Special Advisor, Parliamentary Budget Officer Project; Jacques Sabourin, Acting Director General, Parliamentary Information and Research Service. Privy Council Office: Marc O'Sullivan, Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet, Senior Personnel and Special Projects Secretariat. Department of Finance: Benoit Robidoux, General Director, Assistant Deputy Minister's Office, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch; Katharine Rechico, Chief, Expenditure Analysis and Forecasting, Fiscal Policy Division, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch. Treasury Board Secretariat: Joe Wild, Executive Director, Strategic Policy.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, February 12, 2008, the Committee commenced follow up on the creation of a Parliamentary Budget Officer as provided for in the Federal Accountability Act.

William R. Young made a statement and, with Allan Darling and Jacques Sabourin, answered questions.


At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:33 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Joe Wild made a statement and, with Marc O'Sullivan, Benoit Robidoux and Katharine Rechico, answered questions.


At 5:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee

2008/02/28 1:31 p.m.