Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 16
Thursday, December 6, 2007

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 1:03 p.m. this day, in the Commonwealth A Room, The Westin Nova Scotian, Halifax, Nova Scotia, the Chair, Rob Merrifield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rick Dykstra, Rob Merrifield, Massimo Pacetti and Thierry St-Cyr.


Acting Members present: Gerald Keddy for Ted Menzies, Alexa McDonough for Thomas J. Mulcair and Michael Savage for Hon. John McCallum.


In attendance: House of Commons: Catherine Cuerrier, Committee Clerk. Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal Analyst; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Accor Services: Richard Oram. Association of Nova Scotia University Teachers: Marc Lamoureux, President. Canadian Federation of Students - Nova Scotia Component (PSEC): Kaley Kennedy. Halifax Chamber of Commerce: Valerie A. Payn, President. Sport Matters Group: Ian Bird, Senior Leader. New Brunswick Non-Profit Housing Association: Gary Glauser. Nova Scotia Government and General Employees Union: Ian Johnson, Policy Analyst and Researcher, Post-Secondary Education Coalition. Sierra Club of Canada: Gretchen Fitzgerald, Director, Atlantic Canada Chapter. Symphony Nova Scotia: Erika Beatty, Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Association of Social Workers: Glenn Drover, Social Worker. Canadian Healthcare Association: Sharon Sholzberg-Gray, President and Chief Executive Officer. Heritage Canada Foundation: Chris Wiebe, Officer, Heritage Policy and Government Relations. Imagine Canada: Teri A. Kirk, Vice-President, Public Policy and Regulatory Affairs. National Association of Indigenous Institutes of Higher Learning: Trevor Lewis, Chair. Nova Scotia Federation of Labour: Betty Jean Sutherland, Vice-President-at-Large. Ontario Council of Agencies Serving Immigrants: Roberto Jovel, Coordinator, Policy and Research.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 2:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:37 p.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 4:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2008/02/06 11:23 a.m.