Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 15
Thursday, December 6, 2007

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:05 a.m. this day, in the Commonwealth A Room, The Westin Nova Scotian, Halifax, Nova Scotia, the Chair, Rob Merrifield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rick Dykstra, Rob Merrifield, Massimo Pacetti and Thierry St-Cyr.


Acting Members present: Gerald Keddy for Ted Menzies, Alexa McDonough for Thomas J. Mulcair and Michael Savage for Hon. John McCallum.


In attendance: House of Commons: Catherine Cuerrier, Committee Clerk. Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal Analyst; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Assembly of First Nations: Daniel Wilson, Special Advisor, Accountability. Association of Atlantic Universities: Colin Dodds, Vice-Chair. Canadian Electricity Association: Francis Bradley, Vice-President, Corporate Resources. Feed Nova Scotia: Dianne Swinemar, Executive Director. Halifax Regional Municipality: Dan English, Chief Administrative Officer. North End Community Health Centre: Paul O'Hara, Counsellor. SpeciaLink: The National Centre for Child Care Inclusion: Sharon Hope Irwin, Senior Researcher. Canada's Association for the Fifty-Plus: William Gleberzon, Director, Government Relations. Greater Kitchener Waterloo Chamber of Commerce: Art Sinclair, Director, Economic Development. Heritage Trust of Nova Scotia: Philip Pacey, President. National Association of Friendship Centres: Sean Vanderklis, President, Aboriginal Youth Council. Nova Scotia Association of Social Workers: Susan Nasser, Executive Director. Union of Environment Workers: Mark Power, Regional Vice-President, Newfoundland and Labrador Region.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations.

The Chairman and several Committee members commemorated the 90th anniversary of the Halifax explosion on December 6, 1917, followed by a minute of silence.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 9:36 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:44 a.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 12:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2008/02/06 11:23 a.m.