Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 3
Thursday, November 22, 2007

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 11:09 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Vivian Barbot, Hon. Raymond Chan, Paul Dewar, Peter Goldring, Denis Lebel, Hon. Keith Martin, Deepak Obhrai, Bernard Patry, Kevin Sorenson, Caroline St-Hilaire and Hon. Bryon Wilfert.


Acting Members present: Glen Douglas Pearson for Hon. Bryon Wilfert.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: James Lee, Analyst; Gerald Schmitz, Principal.


Witnesses: Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Alan H. Kessel, Legal Advisor; Robert Ready, Director, Investment Trade Policy; Riemer Boomgaardt, Special Counsel, Trade Law Bureau; Sylvie Tabet, Senior Counsel and Deputy Director, Trade Law Bureau; Meg Kinnear, Senior General Counsel and Director General, Trade Law Bureau. Canadian Chamber of Commerce: Milos Barutciski, Vice-Chair, International Affairs Committee; Brian Zeiler-Kligman, Policy Analyst, International.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of October 29, 2007, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-9, An Act to implement the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of Other States (ICSID Convention).

Alan H. Kessel made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 12:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:10 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Milos Barutciski and Brian Zeiler-Kligman made statements, and answered questions.


At 1:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee

2007/11/29 3:18 p.m.