Skip to main content Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 25
Wednesday, April 9, 2008

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a video recorded session at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Bob Mills, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Hon. John Godfrey, Luc Harvey, Marcel Lussier, David J. McGuinty, Bob Mills, Hon. Geoff Regan, Francis Scarpaleggia, Maurice Vellacott, Mark Warawa and Jeff Watson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sam Banks, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst. House of Commons: Joann Garbig, Legislative Clerk.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, October 16, 2007, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-377, An Act to ensure Canada assumes its responsibilities in preventing dangerous climate change.


The Chair ruled on the question of privilege raised by Mr. Warawa on April 2, 2008 regarding proceedings in the meeting held on Tuesday, April 1, 2008. The Chair ruled that a motion, although not a motion of privilege per se, could be put to an immediate vote to report the matter to the House of Commons and recommend that the Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs, or possibly a special committee, consider whether changes to the Standing Orders might alleviate the current difficulties in Committee.


On motion of Nathan Cullen, it was agreed, — That the Committee report to the House inherent difficulties in the practice, procedure and rules of the House which allow procedurally sound rulings of Chairs to be overruled and that the Committee recommend that this matter be referred to the appropriate committee or possibly a special committee to consider whether changes to the Standing Orders might alleviate the current difficulties in Committee.


The Committee resumed consideration of the motion of Nathan Cullen, — That there be a maximum time limit of two minutes debate per Member of Parliament on each remaining clause and parts of Bill C-377.


At 5:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:39 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 6:41 p.m., the Chair declared the Committee adjourned for lack of quorum.


Normand Radford
Clerk of the Committee

2008/05/30 9:36 a.m.