Skip to main content Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 13
Monday, February 11, 2008

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met by teleconference and videoconference at 3:29 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C Centre Block, the Chair, Bob Mills, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Hon. John Godfrey, Luc Harvey, Marcel Lussier, David J. McGuinty, Bob Mills, Francis Scarpaleggia, Maurice Vellacott, Mark Warawa and Jeff Watson.


Acting Members present: Derek Lee for Hon. Geoff Regan.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sam Banks, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: European Commission: Vicki Pollard, Policy Officer, Environment Directorate, Climate Change Strategy and International Negotiation. Pew Center on Global Climate Change: Vicki Arroyo, Director, Policy Analysis. United Kingdom Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: James Hughes, Deputy Director, Climate Change and Energy, Strategy and Public Sector Division. Department of Justice: Warren J. Newman, Senior General Counsel, Constitutional and Administrative Law Section. Canadian Environmental Law Association: Joseph F. Castrilli, Counsel; Theresa McClenaghan, Executive Director and Counsel. Canadian Bar Association: Andre Turmel, Secretary, National Environmental, Energy and Resources Law Section; Tamra Thomson, Director, Legislation and Law Reform. As individuals: Stewart Elgie, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa, Associate Director, Institute of the Environment; Peter W. Hogg, Scholar in Residence, Blake, Cassels and Graydon LLP.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, October 16, 2007, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-377, An Act to ensure Canada assumes its responsibilities in preventing dangerous climate change.

Vicki Pollard, Vicki Arroyo and James Hughes made statements and answered questions.


At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:32 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Peter Hogg, Theresa McClenaghan, Joseph F. Castrilli, Tamra Thomson, Andre Turmel and Stewart Elgie made statements and answered questions.


At 5:37 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Normand Radford
Clerk of the Committee

2008/02/19 3:11 p.m.