Skip to main content Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 36
Thursday, April 17, 2008

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met at 9:02 a.m. this day, in the Salon A, The Fairmont Newfoundland, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, the Chair, Norman Doyle, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Robert Carrier, Norman Doyle, Ed Komarnicki, Thierry St-Cyr and Hon. Andrew Telegdi.


Acting Members present: Raymonde Folco for Hon. Maurizio Bevilacqua.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Sandra Elgersma, Analyst.


Witnesses: West End Baptist Church: Gordon Sutherland, Pastor. Newfoundland and Labrador Federation of Labour: Lana Payne, First Vice-President. Newfoundland and Labrador Building and Construction Trades Council: David Wade, Executive Director. Fish, Food and Allied Workers: Greg Pretty, Industrial Director, Research and Communications Branch. Coalition on Richer Diversity: Barbara Burnaby; Donna Jeffrey, Executive Director, Refugee Immigrants Advisory Council; Jose Rivera. International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers: Michael Power, International Representative, Atlantic Canada, Newfoundland and New-Brunswick; Richard Dalton, Business Manager, Local 2330.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, November 22, 2007, the Committee resumed its study of undocumented and temporary foreign workers.

Gordon Sutherland, Lana Payne, Greg Pretty and David Wade made statements and answered questions.


At 10:29 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:32 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Barbara Burnaby, Michael Power and Donna Jeffrey made statements and, with Jose Rivera and Richard Dalton, answered questions.


At 11:40 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2008/05/30 10:11 a.m.