Skip to main content Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 34
Wednesday, April 16, 2008

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met at 9:05 a.m. this day, in the Windsor Room, The Prince George Hotel, Halifax, Nova Scotia, the Chair, Norman Doyle, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Robert Carrier, Olivia Chow, Norman Doyle, Ed Komarnicki, Thierry St-Cyr and Hon. Andrew Telegdi.


Acting Members present: Raymonde Folco for Hon. Maurizio Bevilacqua.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Sandra Elgersma, Analyst.


Witnesses: Nova Scotia Federation of Labour: Rick Clarke, President. Nova Scotia Labour Relations Board: Mary-Lou Stewart, Chief Executive Officer. Prince George Hotel: Carol Logan, Director, Human Resources Branch. Nova Scotia Tourism Human Resource Council: Lynn McDonagh Hughes, Manager, Operations. Mainland Nova Scotia Building and Construction Trades Council: Cordell Cole, President. Atlantic Region Association of Immigrant Serving Agencies: Gerry Mills, President. Halifax Coalition Against Poverty: Kevin Wyman.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, November 22, 2007, the Committee resumed its study of undocumented and temporary foreign workers.

Rick Clarke made a statement and, with Mary-Lou Stewart, answered questions.


At 10:06 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:10 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Carol Logan, Lynn McDonagh Hughes and Cordell Cole made statements and answered questions.


At 11:05 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:09 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Gerry Mills and Kevin Wyman made statements and answered questions.


At 11:57 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2008/05/30 10:10 a.m.