Skip to main content Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 23
Monday, April 7, 2008

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met at 11:07 a.m. this day, in the Council Chambers, Waterloo City Centre, Kitchener, Ontario, the Chair, Norman Doyle, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Robert Carrier, Norman Doyle, Nina Grewal, Hon. Jim Karygiannis, Ed Komarnicki, Thierry St-Cyr and Hon. Andrew Telegdi.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sandra Elgersma, Analyst.


Witnesses: City of Waterloo: Brenda Halloran, Mayor of Waterloo. Iraqi Canadian Society of Ontario: Ghina Al-Sewaidi, President; Falah Hafed. Iraqi Federation of Refugees: Jalal Saeed. Iraqi Canadian Society of Ontario: Yanar Mohammed, President, Organization of Women's Freedom in Iraq. Assyrian Aid Society of Canada: Mariam Georgis, Board Member. Mandaean Canadian Community Association: Salam Gatih; Asad Dargham. Popular Chaldean Syriac Assyrian Council: Salam Saffar, General Relations.

By unanimous consent, the Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Brenda Halloran a made a statement.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, November 22, 2007, the Committee resumed its study of Iraqi refugees.

Ghina Al-Seweidi, Falah Hafed, Yanar Mohamed, Jalal Saeed, Salam Gatih and Mariam Georgis made statements and answered questions.


At 12:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2008/04/25 8:41 a.m.