Skip to main content Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
2nd Session, 39th Parliament   2e Session, 39e législature

Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration   Comité permanent de la citoyenneté et de l'immigration
Meeting No. 18 Séance no 18
Monday, March 31, 2008 Le lundi 31 mars 2008
1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. 13 heures à 17 heures
Richmond, B.C.   Richmond, C.-B.
Best Western Richmond Hotel & Convention Centre   Best Western Richmond Hotel & Convention Centre
Room Minoru A+B   Pièce Minoru A+B
7551 Westminster Highway   7551 Westminster Highway
(604) 273-7878   (604) 273-7878

Orders of the Day   Ordre du jour
1. Undocumented and Temporary Foreign Workers
1. Travailleurs sans-papiers et travailleurs étrangers temporaires
Witnesses Témoins
1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. 13 heures à 14 heures
Fraser Institute Fraser Institute
Martin Collacott, Senior Fellow Martin Collacott, attaché supérieur de recherches
Canada West Foundation Canada West Foundation
Roslyn Kunin, Director
British Columbia Office
 Roslyn Kunin, directrice
Bureau de la Colombie-Britannique
As an individual À titre personnel
Don J. DeVoretz, Professor of Economics
Co-Director and Principal Investigator of the Centre of Excellence on Immigration and Integration, Simon Fraser University
 Don J. DeVoretz, professeur d'économie
Codirecteur et enquêteur principal du Centre d'excellence pour la recherche en immigration et en intégration, Université Simon Fraser
2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. 14 heures à 15 heures
British Columbia and Yukon Territory Building and Construction Trades Council British Columbia and Yukon Territory Building and Construction Trades Council
Wayne Peppard, Executive Director Wayne Peppard, directeur général
3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. 15 heures à 16 heures
Grassroots Women Grassroots Women
Lualhati Alcuitas Lualhati Alcuitas
Phillipa Ryan, Board Member Phillipa Ryan, membre du conseil d'administration
Justicia for Migrant Workers - British Columbia Justicia for Migrant Workers - Colombie-Britannique
Erika Del Carmen Fuchs, Organizer Erika Del Carmen Fuchs, organisatrice
S.U.C.C.E.S.S. S.U.C.C.E.S.S.
Tung Chan, Chief Executive Officer Tung Chan, directeur général

2. Immigration Consultants
2. Consultants en immigration
Witnesses Témoins
4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. 16 heures à 17 heures
Canadian Bar Association Association du Barreau canadien
Alex Stojicevic, Chair
National Citizenship and Immigration Law Section
 Alex Stojicevic, président
Section nationale du droit de l'immigration et de la citoyenneté
Law Society of British Columbia Law Society of British Columbia
Carmel Wiseman, Lawyer
Policy and Legal Services Department
 Carmel Wiseman, avocat
Direction des politiques et des services légales
Canadian Society of Immigration Practitioners Canadian Society of Immigration Practitioners
Nancy Salloum, Chairperson Nancy Salloum, présidente
Elie Hani, Director Elie Hani, directrice
Le greffier du Comité
Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin ((613) 995-8525)
Clerk of the Committee
2008/03/31 4:30 p.m.   2008/03/31 16 h 30