Skip to main content Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 14
Monday, March 3, 2008

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Norman Doyle, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dave Batters, Hon. Maurizio Bevilacqua, Robert Carrier, Olivia Chow, Norman Doyle, Nina Grewal, Hon. Jim Karygiannis, Wajid Khan, Ed Komarnicki, Thierry St-Cyr and Hon. Andrew Telegdi.


Acting Members present: Hon. Judy Sgro for Colleen Beaumier.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst; Sandra Elgersma, Analyst.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Olivia Chow moved, — That the Committee recommend that the government allow any applicant (unless they have serious criminality) who has filed an in-Canada spousal or common law sponsorship application to be entitled to an automatic stay of removal until a decision is rendered on their application, that the Committee adopt this recommendation as a report to the House and that, pursuant to Standing Order 108(1), the Chair present it to the House.


It was agreed, — That the debate be now adjourned.


It was agreed, — That the Department of Citizenship and Immigration and the Canada Border Services Agency be requested to brief the Committee on the policy surrounding removals when a spousal or common-law sponsorship application is under consideration.


At 4:02 p.m., the Committee proceeded to sit in camera.


It was agreed, — That the Fourth Report of the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure, which read as follows, be adopted:

In accordance with its mandate pursuant to Order made November 20, 2007, your Subcommittee has considered the question of the business of the Committee.

Pursuant to the motions adopted November 22, 2007, and notwithstanding the motions of December 11, 2007, and February 4, 2008, the Subcommittee recommends:

The Committee give the following priority to its studies — Iraqi refugee issues; temporary foreign workers and undocumented workers; immigration consultants and Bill C-17;

That, in order to hold hearings on the studies above, the Committee travel to Vancouver, Edmonton, Moose Jaw and Winnipeg during the week of March 31 to April 3, to Kitchener-Waterloo, Toronto and Montreal in the week of 7 to 11 April, and to Quebec City and cities in Atlantic Canada in the week of April 14 to 17, 2008;

That, where feasible, the Committee hold its hearings in public facilities such as community centres and city halls rather than hotels;

That the “open mic” options in the work plans not be exercised; and

That, when the Committee travels to hold hearings, the Clerk arrange for the appearance of a small representative number of persons from identifiable congregations and community groups on the lists of witnesses.


It was agreed, — That the Committee receive a parliamentary delegation from the Federal Republic of Germany when it visits Canada between April 28 and 30, 2008.


At 4:39 p.m., the Committee resumed sitting in public.


Andrew Telegdi moved, — That the Minister appear before the Committee before March 11 to defend or to discuss supplementary estimates.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division: YEAS: Maurizio Bevilacqua, Robert Carrier, Olivia Chow, Jim Karygiannis, Thierry St-Cyr, Andrew Telegdi — 6; NAYS: — 0.


At 4:48 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2008/03/13 1:36 p.m.