Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 5
Thursday, November 29, 2007

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met in camera at 11:07 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Gary Schellenberger, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Jim Abbott, Hon. Mauril Bélanger, Gord Brown, Ed Fast, Hon. Hedy Fry, Luc Malo, Maria Mourani, Francis Scarpaleggia, Gary Schellenberger, Hon. Andy Scott and Bill Siksay.


Acting Members present: Lynne Yelich for Dave Batters.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Marion Ménard, Analyst; Lara Trehearne, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Josée Verner, Minister of Canadian Heritage, Status of Women and Official Languages.


Witnesses: Department of Canadian Heritage: Jean-Pierre Blais, Assistant Deputy Minister, Cultural Affairs; Judith A. LaRocque, Deputy Minister.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 15, 2007, the Committee resumed its study on the Role of a Public Broadcaster in the 21st Century.

The Committee resumed consideration of a draft report.


At 11:59 a.m., the sitting was suspended.


At 12:05 p.m., the Committee proceeded to sit in public.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(5), the Committee commenced consideration of the Supplementary Estimates (A) 2007-2008: Votes 1a, 5a, 10a, 15a, 30a, 35a, 45a, 50a, 55a, 65a, 75a and 105a under Canadian Heritage referred to the Committee on Tuesday, October 30, 2007.

The Chair called Vote 1a under Canadian Heritage.


The Minister made a statement and, with Judith A. LaRocque and Jean-Pierre Blais, answered questions.


At 1:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jacques Lahaie
Clerk of the Committee

2007/12/07 11:48 a.m.