Skip to main content Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 12
Thursday, January 31, 2008

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met in a televised session at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Gary Schellenberger, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Jim Abbott, Dave Batters, Hon. Mauril Bélanger, Gord Brown, Ed Fast, Luc Malo, Gary Schellenberger, Hon. Andy Scott and Bill Siksay.


Acting Members present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett for Francis Scarpaleggia, Meili Faille for Maria Mourani, Hon. John McCallum for Francis Scarpaleggia and Hon. Joseph Volpe for Hon. Hedy Fry.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Marion Ménard, Analyst; Lara Trehearne, Analyst.


Witnesses: Telefilm Canada: Michel Roy, Chair, Board of Directors.

Pursuant to Standing Orders 110 and 111 and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 20, 2007, the Committee commenced consideration of the Order in Council appointment of Michel Roy to the position of Chair of the Board of Directors of Telefilm Canada referred to the Committee on November 13, 2007.

The witness made a statement and answered questions.


On motion of Ed Fast, it was agreed, — That the Chair report to the House that the Committee has examined the qualifications and competence of Michel Roy to the position of Chair of the Board of Directors of Telefilm Canada and finds him competent to perform the duties of the position.


At 4:50 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jacques Lahaie, Catherine Cuerrier
Clerks of the Committee

2008/02/19 3:18 p.m.