Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 34
Thursday, May 15, 2008

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 9:00 this day, in Room 213, Wellington Building, the Chair, James Bezan, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Alex Atamanenko, André Bellavance, James Bezan, Ken Boshcoff, Hon. Wayne Easter, Guy Lauzon, Hon. Carol Skelton, Lloyd St. Amand, Paul Steckle and Brian Storseth.


Acting Members present: Jean-Yves Laforest for Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac and Joe Preston for Larry Miller.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Jean-Denis Fréchette, Principal. House of Commons: Georges Etoka, Procedural Clerk.


Appearing: Hon. Gerry Ritz, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food.


Witnesses: Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food: Yaprak Baltacioglu, Deputy Minister; Pierre Corriveau, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Management; Andrew Marsland, Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch; Nada Semaan, Assistant Deputy Minister, Farm Financial Programs Branch; Krista L. Mountjoy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Market and Industry Services Branch; Jamshed Merchant, Executive Director, National Land and Water Information Service. Canadian Food Inspection Agency: Carole Swan, President; Gordon R. White, Vice-President, Finance, Administration and Information Technology; Cameron Prince, Vice-President, Operations; Brian Evans, Executive Vice-President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2008-2009: Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 under AGRICULTURE AND AGRI-FOOD referred to the Committee on Thursday, February 28, 2008.

The Minister Gerry Ritz made a statement and answered questions.


At 10:03 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:08, the sitting resumed.


Pierre Corriveau, Andrew Marsland, Nada Semaan, Brian Evans and Gordon R. White answered questions.


At 10:55 , the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-François Lafleur
Clerk of the Committee

2008/05/16 9:18