Skip to main content Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 30
Wednesday, May 28, 2008

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met in camera at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 362, East Block, the Chair, Barry Devolin, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Harold Albrecht, Rod Bruinooge, Rob Clarke, Jean Crowder, Barry Devolin, Nancy Karetak-Lindell, Tina Keeper, Marc Lemay, Hon. Anita Neville, Todd Norman Russell and Chris Warkentin.


Acting Members present: Brian Murphy for Hon. Anita Neville, Jean-Yves Roy for Yvon Lévesque and Denise Savoie for Jean Crowder.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mary Hurley, Analyst; Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation: Sharon Matthews, Vice-President, Assisted Housing Sector; John Black, Director, Housing Needs Policy and Research. Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development : Christine Cram, Acting Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Socio-Economic Policy and Regional Operations; Marc Brooks, Director General, Community Development Branch, Socio-economic Policy and Regional Operations. Indian Residential Schools Resolution Canada: Gina Wilson, Assistant Deputy Minister; Aideen Nabigon, Director General, Policy, Partnership and Communication.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 3:37 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:38 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2008-09: Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, L30, L35, 40, 45, 50, 55 and 60 under INDIAN AFFAIRS AND NORTHERN DEVELOPMENT referred to the Committee on February 28, 2008.

Sharon Matthews and Christine Cram made statements and answered questions.


At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Gina Wilson made a statement and answered questions.


At 5:09 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:14 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee begin its study of Bill C-34, An Act to give effect to the Tsawwassen First Nation Final Agreement and to make consequential amendments to other Acts on June 4, 2008, with a one hour appearance by the Minister and a one hour appearance by Chief Kim Baird, and that the Clerk of the Committee prepare a draft budget for consideration by the Committee on May 29, 2008.


At 5:40 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Bonnie Charron
Clerk of the Committee

2008/05/30 2:40 p.m.