Skip to main content Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 24
Monday, April 14, 2008

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Barry Devolin, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Harold Albrecht, Rod Bruinooge, Rob Clarke, Jean Crowder, Barry Devolin, Nancy Karetak-Lindell, Tina Keeper, Marc Lemay, Hon. Anita Neville and Chris Warkentin.


Acting Members present: Gérard Asselin for Yvon Lévesque.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mary Hurley, Analyst.


Witnesses: Six Nations of the Grand River: Bill Montour; Philip Monture, Lands Researcher. Oneida Nation of the Thames: Olive Elm, Councillor; Randall Phillips; Martin Powless, Lands and Estates Administrator. Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte : Lisa Maracle, Researcher; R. Donald Maracle, Band No. 38. Mohawk Council of Kahnawake: Mike Delisle; Christine Zachary Deom. Mohawk Council of Akwesasne: William Sunday; Tim Thompson.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, December 10, 2007, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-30, An Act to establish the Specific Claims Tribunal and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Chief Bill Montour, Chief Randal Phillips, Chief R. Donald Maracle, Grand Chief Tim Thompson, Grand Chief Mike Delisle, Olive Elm and Lisa Maracle made statements and, with Philip Monture, Christine Zachary Deom and Martin Powless, answered questions.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Bonnie Charron
Clerk of the Committee

2008/04/15 2:09 p.m.