Skip to main content Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 20
Monday, March 31, 2008

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Barry Devolin, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Harold Albrecht, Rod Bruinooge, Jean Crowder, Barry Devolin, Nancy Karetak-Lindell, Tina Keeper, Marc Lemay, Yvon Lévesque, Hon. Anita Neville, Todd Norman Russell, Brian Storseth and Chris Warkentin.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mary Hurley, Analyst; Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst.


Witnesses: Assembly of First Nations: Shawn Atleo, Regional Chief, British Columbia; Wilton Littlechild, Regional Chief, Alberta; Roger Jones, Legal Counsel; Charles Weaselhead, Blood Tribe; Rick Simon, Regional Chief, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador. Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nation Chiefs Secretariat Inc.: Noah Augustine, Metepenagiag First Nation; Lawrence Paul, Millbrook First Nation. Algonquin Nation Secretariat: Peter Di Gangi, Director; Norman Young; Harry St. Denis, Wolf Lake First Nation. First Nations Summit: Edward John. As Individual: Tony Penikett. Southern Chiefs' Organization: Morris J. Swan Shannacappo; Carl Braun.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, December 10, 2007, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-30, An Act to establish the Specific Claims Tribunal and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Shawn Atleo, Chief Edward John, Tony Penikett, Chief Noah Augustine and Chief Lawrence Paul made statements and, with the other witness, answered questions.


At 4:41 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:46 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Chief Wilton Littlechild, Chief Charles Weaselhead, Rick Simon, Grand Chief Norman Young, Chief Harry St. Denis and Grand Chief Morris J. Swan Shannacappo made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 6:07 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Bonnie Charron
Clerk of the Committee

2008/04/01 3:36 p.m.