Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 11
Tuesday, June 20, 2006

The Standing Committee on Transport, Infrastructure and Communities met at 11:03 a.m. this day, in Room 701, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Merv Tweed, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Don H. Bell, Steven Blaney, Robert Carrier, Ed Fast, Brian Jean, Peter Julian, Mario Laframboise, Hon. Andy Scott, Brian Storseth and Merv Tweed.


Acting Members present: Hon. Larry Bagnell for David J. McGuinty and Francis Scarpaleggia for Hon. Charles Hubbard.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Padova, Analyst; Terrence Thomas, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Transport: Marc Grégoire, Assistant Deputy Minister, Safety and Security Group; Susan Greene, Chief, Cabin Safety Standards. Air Transport Association of Canada: Fred Gaspar, Vice President, Policy and Strategic Planning; Andy Vasarins, Vice President, Flight Operations. Canadian Union of Public Employees: Pamela Sachs, President, Air Canada Component; Richard Balnis, Senior Researcher .

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its study of safety solutions on all modes of transport, security.

Marc Grégoire made an opening statement and answered questions.

Fred Gaspar made an opening statement and, with Andy Vasarins, answered questions.

Pamela Sachs made an opening statement and, with Richard Balnis, answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Peter Julian gave notice of a motion.

It was agreed, that the Committee meet on Thursday, June 22, 2006, to hear from the Air Canada Pilots Association, the groups cited by Mr. Grégoire during his statement and the Department of Transport.


At 1:02 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Clerk of the Committee

2006/06/20 5:00 p.m.