Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 76
Tuesday, June 12, 2007

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met in a video recorded session at 9:03 a.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Chair, Art Hanger, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Larry Bagnell, Joe Comartin, Rick Dykstra, Carole Freeman, Art Hanger, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Derek Lee, Réal Ménard, Rob Moore and Daniel Petit.


Acting Members present: Rick Norlock for Myron Thompson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Laura Barnett, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Society of Forensic Science: Brian Hodgson, Chair, Alcohol Test Committee; Louise Dehaut, member, Alcohol Test Committee; Shirley Treacy, Chair, Drugs and Driving Committee. Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse: Douglas Beirness, Manager, Research and Policy; Jacques Lecavalier, Associate, Research and Policy. Canadian Bar Association: Tamra Thomson, Director, Legislation and Law Reform; Mitchell MacLeod, Executive Member, National Criminal Justice Section.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, February 6, 2007, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-32, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (impaired driving) and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Brian Hodgson made a statement and, with Louise Dehaut, answered questions.


Shirley Treacy made a statement and answered questions.


Douglas Beirness made a statement and, with Jacques Lecavalier, answered questions.


At 9:40 a.m., Derek Lee took the Chair.


Tamra Thomson and Mitchell MacLeod each made a statement and answered questions.


At 10:24 a.m., Art Hanger took the Chair.


At 11:03 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:04 a.m., the sitting resumed.


It was agreed, — That the Committee reinvite the representative of the Drugs an Driving Committee of the Canadian Society of Forensic Science and the representatives of the Canadian Bar Association to appear on Thursday, June 14, 2007, to answer questions in relation to Bill C-32.


At 11:05 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Diane Diotte
Clerk of the Committee

2007/06/12 4:17 p.m.