Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 74
Tuesday, June 5, 2007

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 9:01 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Art Hanger, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Larry Bagnell, Joe Comartin, Rick Dykstra, Carole Freeman, Art Hanger, Derek Lee, Réal Ménard, Daniel Petit and Myron Thompson.


Acting Members present: Robert Carrier for Carole Freeman and Robert Carrier for Réal Ménard.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Laura Barnett, Analyst.


Witnesses: Barreau du Québec: Louis Belleau, Lawyer, President of the Committee on Criminal Law of the Barreau du Québec; Nicole Dufour, Lawyer, Research and Legislation Service. Canada Safety Council: Ethel Archard, Consultant; Raynald Marchand, General Manager of Programs; Emile J. Therien, Past President. As an individual: Line Beauchesne, Associate Professor, Department of Criminology, University of Ottawa. Criminal Lawyers' Association: Paul Burstein, Director; Jonathan Rosenthal, Representative.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, February 6, 2007, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-32, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (impaired driving) and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

Nicole Dufour made a statement and, with the other witness from the Barreau du Québec, answered questions.


Emile J. Therien made a statement and, with the other witnesses from the Canada Safety Council, answered questions.


Line Beauchesne made a statement and answered questions.


Paul Burstein and Jonathan Rosenthal each made a statement and answered questions.


At 11:00 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Diane Diotte
Clerk of the Committee

2007/06/05 2:52 p.m.