Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 53
Thursday, March 1, 2007

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 9:03 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Art Hanger, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Patrick Brown, Joe Comartin, Carole Freeman, Art Hanger, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Réal Ménard, Rob Moore, Brian Murphy and Daniel Petit.


Acting Members present: Lloyd St. Amand for Hon. Larry Bagnell.


Associate Members present: Garry Breitkreuz.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Robin MacKay, Analyst; Dominique Valiquet, Analyst. House of Commons: Joann Garbig, Legislative Clerk.


Witnesses: Royal Canadian Mounted Police: David Bird, Senior Legal Counsel. Department of Justice: Greg Yost, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, October 4, 2006, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-18, An Act to amend certain Acts in relation to DNA identification.

The Committee commenced its clause-by-clause study of the Bill.


The witnesses answered questions.


The Chair called Clause 1.


By unanimous consent, Clauses 1 to 52 inclusive carried on division.


The Title carried on division.


The Bill carried on division.


ORDERED, — That the Chair report the Bill to the House.


At 9:17 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:19 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

The Chair presented the Tenth Report from the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure


Debate arose thereon.


It was agreed, — That, in relation to the study of Bill C-22, groups/individuals be invited to appear on March 21, from 3:30 to 5:30 p.m., and on March 22, March 27 and March 29, 2007, from 9:00 to 11:00 a.m., starting with the Minister of Justice and officials from the department; and that the clause by clause study take place on April 17, 2007 at 9:00 a.m.

That, in relation to the study of Bill C-22, the clerk of the committee be authorized to invite from the list of potential witnesses dated February 27, 2007, some groups and individuals, for a maximum of 5 groups or individuals by meeting and, that further consultation on who to invite will take place at a future meeting of the Sub-Committee on agenda and procedure.

That the committee proceed to the study of the procedure for selecting judges on Tuesday, March 20, 2007, from 9:00 to 11:00 a.m. and continue with the study on March 28 and April 18, 2007, from 3:30 to 5:30 p.m., with a maximum of 5 groups/individuals by meeting.

That, in relation to the study of the procedure for selecting judges, the committee start its review by inviting the following groups or individuals to appear: the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs, the General Counsel from the Department of Justice, Sébastien Grammond, Former judge Antonio Lamer, Former judge Claire L'Heureux-Dubé, l'Association du Barreau canadien, Peter Russell, Jacob Ziegel, Peter Hogg, Patrick Monahan, the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police and the Canadian Professional Police Association.

That, in relation to the study of the procedure for selecting judges, the clerk ask the members of the Committee to submit their suggestions for additional witnesses and that they will be reviewed by the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure.


It was agreed, — That the Tenth Report of the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure, as amended, be adopted.


At 9:55 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Diane Diotte
Clerk of the Committee

2007/03/02 8:25 a.m.