Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
1st Session, 39th Parliament   1re Session, 39e législature

Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights   Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne
Meeting No. 24 Séance no 24
Tuesday, October 24, 2006 Le mardi 24 octobre 2006
3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. 15 h 30 à 17 h 30
Room 253-D, Centre Block   Pièce 253-D, édifice du Centre
((613) 996-4916)   ((613) 996-4916)

Orders of the Day   Ordre du jour
Televised Télévisée
1. Bill C-17, An Act to amend the Judges Act and certain other Acts in relation to courts
1. Projet de loi C-17, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les juges et d'autres lois liées aux tribunaux
3:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. 15 h 30 à 16 h 30
Appearing Comparaît
Hon. Vic Toews, Minister of Justice L'hon. Vic Toews, ministre de la Justice
Witnesses Témoins
Department of Justice ministère de la Justice
Judith Bellis, General Counsel
Courts and Tribunal Policy
 Judith Bellis, avocate générale
Services des affaires judiciaires, des cours et des tribunaux administratifs
4:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. 16 h 30 à 17 h 30
Judicial Compensation and Benefits Commission Commission d'examen de la rémunération des juges fédéraux
A. Roderick McLennan, Chairperson A. Roderick McLennan, président
Earl Cherniak, Commissioner Earl Cherniak, commissaire
Gretta Chambers, Commissioner Gretta Chambers, commissaire
Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs Bureau du Commissaire à la magistrature fédérale
David Gourdeau, Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs David Gourdeau, commissaire à la magistrature fédérale
Wayne Osborne, Director
Financial Services
 Wayne Osborne, directeur
Services financiers

(In Camera) (À huis clos)
2. Committee Business
2. Travaux du Comité
• Report of the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure • Rapport du Sous-comité du programme et de la procédure
Le greffier du Comité
Diane Diotte ((613) 996-1553)
Clerk of the Committee
2006/10/24 9:45 a.m.   2006/10/24 9 h 45