Skip to main content Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 8
Thursday, June 8, 2006

The Standing Committee on Health met by videoconference at 11:31 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Rob Merrifield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dave Batters, Bonnie Brown, Patricia Davidson, Nicole Demers, Rick Dykstra, Steven John Fletcher, Rob Merrifield and Penny Priddy.


Acting Members present: Vivian Barbot for Christiane Gagnon, Ruby Dhalla for Hon. Ken Dryden and Tina Keeper for Hon. Hedy Fry.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst; Nancy Miller Chenier, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Health: Neil Yeates, Assistant Deputy Minister, Health Products and Food Branch; Supriya Sharma, Associate Director General, Therapeutic Products Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch. Public Health Agency of Canada: Sylvie Stachenko, Deputy Chief Public Health Officer, Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Branch; Yang Mao, Director, Health Promotion and Disease Prevention. University of Toronto: Mitchell Brown, Plastic, Reconstructive and Cosmetic Surgeon and Associate Professor, Department of Surgery. Brampton Memorial Hospital Campus: Paula Chidwick, Director of Clinical and Corporate Ethics and Ethicist, William Osler Health Centre. National Research Center for Women & Families: Diana Zuckerman, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, May 11, 2006, the Committee resumed its study of silicone gel-filled breast implants.

Neil Yeates, Sylvie Stachenko, Mitchell Brown (by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario), Paula Chidwick and Diana Zucherman made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 1:37 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Diane Diotte
Committee Clerk

2007/11/09 3:54 p.m.