Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 56
Thursday, December 7, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 3:36 p.m. this day, in Room 362, East Block, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Pierre A. Paquette, Michael Savage, Mike Wallace and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: André Bellavance for Thierry St-Cyr and Hon. Joe McGuire for Hon. John McCallum.


In attendance: Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee. Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Carol Skelton, Minister of National Revenue.


Witnesses: Canada Revenue Agency: Connie Roveto, Chair, Board of Management; Michel Dorais, Commissioner; William V. Baker, Deputy Commissioner and Chief Operating Officer; James Ralston, Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Commissioner, Finance and Administration Branch; Deborah MacDonald-McGee, Corporate Secretary. Office of the Auditor General of Canada: Mary Anne McMahon, Principal.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and section 89 of the Canada Revenue Agency Act, the Committee resumed the study of the first five years of the Statutory Review of the Act.

The Minister made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


Connie Roveto made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/12/18 10:50 a.m.