Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
1st Session, 39th Parliament   1re Session, 39e législature

Standing Committee on Finance   Comité permanent des finances
Meeting No. 48 Séance no 48
Thursday, November 2, 2006 Le jeudi 2 novembre 2006
11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. 11 heures à 14 heures
Room 237-C, Centre Block   Pièce 237-C, édifice du Centre
((613) 943-1496)   ((613) 943-1496)

Orders of the Day   Ordre du jour
Televised Télévisée
Bill C-25, An Act to amend the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act and the Income Tax Act and to make a consequential amendment to another Act Projet de loi C-25, Loi modifiant la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes, la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu et une autre loi en conséquence
11:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. 11 heures à 12 h 30
Panel I Groupe I
Witnesses Témoins
Canadian Bankers Association Association des banquiers canadiens
Warren Law, Senior Vice-President
Corporate Operations and General Counsel
 Warren Law, premier vice-président
Affaires générales et chef du contentieux
Office of the Auditor General of Canada Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada
Douglas Timmins, Assistant Auditor General Douglas Timmins, vérificateur général adjoint
Canada Revenue Agency Agence du revenu du Canada
Elizabeth Tromp, Director General
Charities Directorate, Legislative Policy and Regulatory Affairs Branch
 Elizabeth Tromp, directrice générale
Direction des organismes de bienfaisance, Direction générale de la politique législative et des affaires réglementaires
Donna Walsh, Director
Review and Analysis Division, Charities Directorate, Legislative Policy and Regulatory Affairs Branch
 Donna Walsh, directrice
Division d'examen et d'analyse, Direction des organismes de bienfaisance, Direction générale de la politique législative et des affaires réglementaires
Denis Meunier, Director General
Enforcement and Disclosures Directorate, Compliance Programs Branch
 Denis Meunier, directeur général
Direction de l'exécution et des divulgations, Direction générale des programmes d'observation
Western Union Western Union
Brian Fox, Regional Vice-President Canada Brian Fox, vice-président régional du Canada
Derek McMillan, Director
Anti-Money Laundering Compliance
 Derek McMillan, directeur
Adhésion à la lutte contre le recyclage de l'argent
Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association Inc. Association canadienne des compagnies d'assurances de personnes inc.
Jean-Pierre Bernier, Vice-President and General Counsel Jean-Pierre Bernier, vice-président et avocat général
12:30 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. 12 h 30 à 14 heures
Panel II Groupe II
Witnesses Témoins
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières Canada
Nicolas Burbidge, Senior Director
Compliance Division
 Nicolas Burbidge, directeur général
Division de la conformité
Federation of Law Societies of Canada Fédération des ordres professionnels de juristes du Canada
James Varro, Policy Counsel
Anti-Money Laundering Committee
 James Varro, conseiller en politique
Adhésion à la lutte contre le recyclage de l'argent
Canadian Bar Association Association du Barreau canadien
Ron Skolrood, Chair
Constitutional and Human Rights Law Section
 Ron Skolrood, président
Section du droit constitutionnel et des droits de la personnes
Tamra L. Thomson, Director
Legislation and Law Reform
 Tamra L. Thomson, directrice
Législation et réforme du droit
Investment Dealers Association of Canada Association canadienne des courtiers en valeurs mobilières
Lawrence N. Boyce, Vice-President
Sales Compliance and Registration
 Lawrence N. Boyce, vice-président
Conformité des ventes et inscription
Senate Sénat
Jerahmiel S. Grafstein, Chairman
Banking, Trade and Commerce Committee
 Jerahmiel S. Grafstein, président
Comité des banques et commerce
Les greffières du Comité
Elizabeth B. Kingston ((613) 992-9753)
Shaila Anwar ((613) 943-7371)
Clerks of the Committee
2006/11/02 10:29 a.m.   2006/11/02 10 h 29