Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 43
Wednesday, October 25, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 1:02 p.m. this day, in the Duquesne/Jonquière, Hôtel Delta Québec, Québec, Québec, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Hon. John McCallum, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Pierre A. Paquette, Michael Savage, Thierry St-Cyr, Mike Wallace and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Steven Blaney for Mike Wallace and Luc Harvey for Rick Dykstra.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Alexandre Laurin, Analyst; June Dewetering, Principal. Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Front d'action populaire en réaménagement urbain: Nicolas Lefebvre Legault, President; François Saillant, Coordinator. Laval University: Michel Pigeon, President. Boîte à science: Manon Théberge, Director General. Canadian Arts Coalition: Micheline McKay, Co-Chair; Anne-Marie Jean, Executive Director. Association des propriétaires de Québec Inc.: Marcel Tremblay. Fédération des cégeps: Gaétan Boucher, Chief Executive Officer. Association of Canadian Community Colleges: Serge Brasset, Executive Director. Union des producteurs agricoles du Québec: Denis Bilodeau, Vice-President; Serge Lebeau, Senior International Trade Manager. McGill University: Heather Munroe-Blum, Principal. RIDEAU: Colette Brouillé, Executive Director. Réseau Solidarité Itinérance du Québec: Nathalie Brisseau, Coordinator. Desjardins Group: Yves Morency, Vice-President, Government Relations.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 2:25 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 2:30 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 3:50 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/11/06 10:32 a.m.