Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 40
Tuesday, October 24, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:01 a.m. this day, in the Nova Scotia Ballroom Section D, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, Halifax, Nova Scotia, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Pierre A. Paquette, Michael Savage, Mike Wallace and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee. Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Nova Scotia Government and General Employees Union: Ian Johnson, Policy Analyst, Researcher. Canadian Federation of Students: Chris Parsons, National Executive Representative. Alliance of Nova Scotia Student Associations: Spencer Keys, Executive Director. Brain Injury Association of Nova Scotia: Jane Warren. Independent Media Arts Alliance: Jennifer Dorner, National Director. Dalhousie University: Jeanne Fay, Senior Lecturer, School of Social Work . University of Prince Edward Island: Katherine Schultz, Vice-President, Research and Development. Association of Nova Scotia University Teachers: Chris Ferns, Past-President. Canadian Union of Public Employees: Chris Ferns. Response: A Thousand Voices: Gayle McIntyre, Founder. North End Community Health Centre: Paul O'Hara, Counsellor. Nova Scotia Association of Social Workers: Susan Nasser, Executive Director. New Brunswick Business Council: Donald Dennison, Executive Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


By unanimous consent, it was agreed, — That briefs, not available in both official languages, be distributed to Committee members in Halifax, Quebec City and Toronto.


At 10:28 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:39 a.m., the sitting resumed.


At 12:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/26 11:38 a.m.