Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 33
Monday, October 16, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Michael Savage, Thierry St-Cyr, Hon. Garth Turner and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Paul Crête for Pierre A. Paquette.


In attendance: Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee. Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Council of Professional Engineers: Marie Lemay, Chief Executive Officer. Association of Consulting Engineers of Canada: Claude Paul Boivin, President, National Office. Enbridge Inc.: Chuck Szmurlo, Vice-President, Energy Technology and Business Development. Grape Growers of Ontario: Debbie Zimmerman, Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Horticultural Council. Action Canada for Population and Development: Dina Epale, Public Affairs Officer. David Suzuki Foundation: Pierre Sadik, Sustainability Specialist. Association of Canadian Publishers: Jack Wayne, President, Canadian Scholars' Press Inc.. Horse Racing Tax Alliance of Canada: Michael Van Every, Chair. Canadian Housing and Renewal Association: Sharon Chisholm, Executive Director. Insurance Bureau of Canada: Mark Yakabuski, Vice-President, Government Relations, Ottawa and General Manager. Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs: Donald F. Warden, Fire Chief, Wasaga Beach. Dystonia Medical Research Foundation Canada: Sarah Smith, National Director. Canadian Health Food Association: Valerie Bell, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 4:56 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:02 p.m., the sitting resumed.


At 6:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/19 4:50 p.m.