Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 31
Friday, October 6, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:02 a.m. this day, in the Ambassador A Room, Canad Inns Portage la Prairie Hotel, PORTAGE LA PRAIRIE, Manitoba, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Michael Savage, Thierry St-Cyr and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Merv Tweed for Diane Ablonczy.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: University of Winnipeg: Hon. Lloyd Axworthy, President and Vice-Chancellor. University of Manitoba: Emõke J.E. Szathmáry, President and Vice-Chancellor. Red River College: Jeff Zabudsky, President. Manitoba Chambers of Commerce: Graham Starmer, President. Association of Manitoba Municipalities: Lorne Boguski, Urban Vice-President. Brandon University: Louis P. Visentin, President and Vice-Chancelor. Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce: Trevor Sprague, Chairman. Child Care Advocacy Association of Canada: Donna Riddell, Manitoba. SpeciaLink: Debra Mayer, Project Manager. Child Care Coalition of Manitoba: Susan Prentice, Member, Steering Committee. Manitoba Child Care Association: Karen Ohlson, President. Lourdéon Wellness Centre: Paul Cenerini. Social Planning Council of Winnipeg: Sid Frankel, Member. Manitoba Government and General Employees Union: Gay Pagan, Organizer. ENSIS Growth Fund Inc.: O. Ken Bicknell, Vice-President. Manitoba Hotel Association: Leo Ledohowski, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Mental Health Association - Central (Manitoba) Region: Don Boddy, President, CMHA - Central.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:31 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:39 a.m., the sitting resumed.


At 12:03 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/24 11:33 a.m.