Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 30
Thursday, October 5, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:00 a.m. this day, in the Ballroom, Hilton Garden Inn, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Michael Savage, Thierry St-Cyr and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Mike Wallace for Hon. Garth Turner.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Regina Airport Authority: Rob Slinger, Chief Executive Officer. Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities: David Marit, President. Council of CEOs of Saskatchewan's Regional Colleges: Bryan Nylander, President and Chief Executive Officer, North West Regional College. Saskatchewan Union of Nurses: Marlene Brown, First Vice-President. Genome Prairie: Lisa Jategaonkar, Director of Communications. Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce: Colin Taylor, Co-Chair, Investment and Growth Committee. Canadian Nurses Association: Marlene Smadu, President. Canadian Fertilizer Institute: Clyde Graham, Vice-President, Strategy and Alliances. Saskatchewan Council for International Cooperation: Hamid Javed, Chair, Board of Directors. Federation of Canadian Municipalities: Gord Steeves, First Vice-President, Councillor, City of Winnipeg; James Knight, Chief Executive Officer. Canada West Equipment Dealers Association: John Schmeiser, Executive Vice-President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:27 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:33 a.m., the sitting resumed.


At 11:59 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/13 10:46 a.m.