Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 27
Tuesday, October 3, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:02 a.m. this day, in the Ballroom Plaza A & B, Hyatt Regency Hotel, Vancouver, British Columbia, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Michael Savage, Thierry St-Cyr and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Mike Wallace for Hon. Garth Turner.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Human Early Learning Partnership: Paul Kershaw. Alma Mater Society of the University of British Columbia: Ian Patillo, Vice-President, External. British Columbia Alliance for Accountable Mental Health and Addictions Services: Michael Clague, Executive Coordinator. British Columbia Chamber of Commerce: John Garson, President and Chief Executive Officer. British Columbia Real Estate Association: Janet Cunningham. New Media BC: Lynda Brown, President. Planned Lifetime Advocacy Network: Susan Whittaker, Chair; Jack Styan, Executive Director. Greater Vancouver Transportation Authority: Robert Paddon, Vice-President, Corporate and Public Affairs. Coalition of Child Care Advocates of British Columbia: Sharon Gregson, Chairperson. Kids First Parent Association of Canada: Helen Ward, President. Vancouver Board of Trade: Janette Pantry, Director; Dave Park, Assistant Managing Director and Chief Economist. Greater Vancouver Regional District: Verna Semotuk, Senior Planner, Policy and Planning Department. GrowthWorks Capital Ltd.: David Levi, President and Chief Executive Officer. Fraser Valley KAIROS Group: Kim Brandt, Representative. Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters - BC Division: Werner Knittel, Vice-President, B.C. Division. Prince Rupert Port Authority: Don Krusel, President and Chief Executive Officer. Indian Taxation Advisory Board: Manny Jules, Chairman.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:31 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:38 a.m., the sitting resumed.


At 12:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/13 10:42 a.m.