Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 25
Thursday, September 28, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 10:03 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Vice-Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Pierre A. Paquette, Michael Savage, Thierry St-Cyr, Hon. Garth Turner and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Bergevin, Analyst; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Shaila Anwar, Co-Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Canadian Conference of the Arts : Robert Spickler, President; Alain Pineau, National Director. Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated: Joanasie Akumalik, Director; Alastair Campbell, Director. Canadian Union of Public Employees: Paul Moist, National President. Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation: Norman Riddell, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer. RESP Dealers Association of Canada: Peter Lewis, Chair, Government Relations. Canadian Public Health Association: Elinor Wilson, Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Institutes of Health Research: Alan Bernstein, President. Canadian Bankers Association: Luc Vanneste, President, Financial Affairs Committee and Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer, Bank of Nova Scotia . Canadian Institute of Actuaries: Michael Hale, Chair, Member Services Council. Road and Infrastructure Program of Canada (The): Jeff Morrison, Executive Director. Canadian Federation of Students - National Office: Amanda Aziz. Canadian Association for Graduate Studies: Mark Dale, Dean of Graduate Studies, University of Alberta.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 11:31 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:35 a.m., the sitting resumed.


At 12:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/13 10:38 a.m.