Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 17
Wednesday, September 20, 2006

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Brian Pallister, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Dean Del Mastro, Rick Dykstra, Hon. John McCallum, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Michael Savage, Thierry St-Cyr, Hon. Garth Turner and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Nicole Demers for Yvan Loubier.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Child Care Federation: Yvonne Dionne, Director, Development, Marketing and Communications. Canadian Mental Health Association: Judy Watson, Vice-President. Alliance to End Homelessness: Mary-Martha Hale, Chair; Marion Wright, Chair. University of Montréal: Luc Vinet, Rector. Canadian Association of Gift Planners: Susan Manwaring, Chair, Government Relations Committee. Association of Canadian Academic Healthcare Organizations: Glenn Brimacombe, Chief Executive Officer. National Children's Alliance: Peter Dudding, Executive Director. Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada: Deanna Groetzinger, National Vice-President, Communications; Yassemin Cohanim, Volunteer. Imagine Canada: Teri A. Kirk, Vice-President, Public Policy and Government Relations. Canadian Bar Association: James Parks, Chair, National Charities and Not for Profit Law Section. Canadian Foundation for Climate and Atmospheric Sciences: Jacques Derome, Professor, McGill University; Dawn Conway, Executive Director. Canadian Pharmacists Association: Jeff W. Poston, Executive Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2006.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 5:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Elizabeth B. Kingston
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/18 10:41 a.m.