Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 62
Wednesday, June 6, 2007

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met in a televised session with the Standing Committee on National Defence at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, Kevin Sorenson, the Chair of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development and Rick Casson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Vivian Barbot, Hon. Ujjal Dosanjh, Peter Goldring, Wajid Khan, Francine Lalonde, Francine Lalonde, Alexa McDonough, Deepak Obhrai, Kevin Sorenson and Hon. Bryon Wilfert.


Acting Members present: Dave MacKenzie for Bill Casey.


Members of the Standing Committee on National Defence present: Claude Bachand, Dawn Black, John Cannis, Rick Casson, Hon. Denis Coderre, Cheryl Gallant, Laurie Hawn, Russ Hiebert, Hon. Keith Martin and Hon. Joe McGuire.


Acting Members present: Dean Del Mastro for Steven Blaney.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: James Lee, Analyst; Gerald Schmitz, Principal; James Cox, Analyst. Standing Committee on National Defence: Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin, Clerk of the Committee.


Appearing: Hon. Peter MacKay, Minister of Foreign Affairs; Hon. Stockwell Day, Minister of Public Safety; Hon. Gordon O'Connor, Minister of National Defence; Hon. Josée Verner, Minister of International Cooperation; Hon. Helena Guergis, Secretary of State (Foreign Affairs and International Trade).

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motions adopted by the Committee on May 1 and May 29, 2007, the Committee proceeded to a briefing on the handling of persons detained by the Canadian Forces in Afghanistan

The Ministers and the Secretary of State made statements and answered questions.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee

2007/06/08 9:43 a.m.