Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 23
Tuesday, October 24, 2006

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 701, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Bourgeois, Bill Casey, Peter Goldring, Hon. Keith Martin, Alexa McDonough, Deepak Obhrai, Bernard Patry, Kevin Sorenson and Peter Van Loan.


Acting Members present: Vivian Barbot for Francine Lalonde, Ted Menzies for Peter Van Loan, Caroline St-Hilaire for Diane Bourgeois, Lui Temelkovski for Hon. Albina Guarnieri and Blair Wilson for Hon. Bryon Wilfert.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Gerald Schmitz, Principal; James Lee, Analyst.


Witnesses: CANADEM (Canada's Civilian Reserve): Paul LaRose-Edwards, Executive Director. As an individual: Hon. John McKay, P.C., M.P..

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on May 10, 2006, the Committee resumed its study on Democratic Development.

Mr. Paul LaRose-Edwards made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, September 20, 2006, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-293, An Act respecting the provision of development assistance abroad.

Mr. John McKay made a statement and answered questions.


At 5:37 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee

2006/10/26 9:09 a.m.