Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 18
Monday, October 2, 2006

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 701, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Diane Bourgeois, Peter Goldring, Hon. Keith Martin, Alexa McDonough, Deepak Obhrai, Bernard Patry and Kevin Sorenson.


Acting Members present: Dean Allison for Peter Van Loan, Vivian Barbot for Francine Lalonde, Ted Menzies for Bill Casey and Borys Wrzesnewskyj for Hon. Bryon Wilfert.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Gerald Schmitz, Principal.


Witnesses: International Development Research Centre: Maureen O'Neil, President. Rights and Democracy (International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development): Jean-Louis Roy, President. Rights and Democracy: Wayne MacKay, Interim Chair, Board of Directors. Parliamentary Centre: Robert Miller, President and Chief Executive Officer; Jean-Marc Hamel, Member, Board of Directors. Canadian Foundation for the Americas: John W. Graham, President, Board of Directors.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on May 10, 2006, the Committee resumed its study on Democratic Development.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 4:36 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:40 p.m., the sitting resumed.


The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee

2007/10/18 3:26 p.m.