Skip to main content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 64
Thursday, May 17, 2007

The Standing Committee on International Trade met at 11:01 a.m. this day, in Room 701, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Leon Benoit, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, Guy André, Hon. Navdeep Bains, Leon Benoit, Ron Cannan, Serge Cardin, Peter Julian, Pierre Lemieux and Lui Temelkovski.


Acting Members present: Gord Brown for Pierre Lemieux and Laurie Hawn for Ted Menzies.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Peter Berg, Analyst; Michael Holden, Analyst; Elizabeth Kuruvila, Analyst.


Witnesses: Centre for Trade Policy and Law of Carleton University: William Dymond, Senior Executive Fellow. As an individual: Carl Grenier, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, Laval University.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on May 15, 2007, the Committee resumed its study of Bulk Water Removals.

Ron Cannan moved, — That any member of the Committee may attach a dissenting opinion to this, and futur, report(s) within 48 hours of the adoption of the report(s).


Whereas the Chair ruled the motion out of order on the basis that it required 48 hours notice.


Dean Allison moved, — That the Conservative Party submit its dissenting opinion on the Ninth Report to the Clerk's Office no later than 5 p.m. today, and that the report be presented to the House.


Peter Julian moved, — That the motion be amended by replacing the “5 p.m.” with “12 p.m.”.


The question was put on the amendment of Peter Julian and it was agreed to on the following recorded division: YEAS: Guy André, Navdeep Bains, Serge Cardin, Peter Julian, Lui Temelkovski — 5; NAYS: Dean Allison, Ron Cannan, Laurie Hawn — 3.


After debate, the question was put on the motion, as amended, and it was agreed to on division.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee do not issue a News Release on its travel plans.


It was agreed, — That all further motions be submitted to the Committee in writing.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its study of Machinery of Government and the Implementation of Canada's Trade Policy.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 12:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Normand Radford
Clerk of the Committee

2007/06/27 2:15 p.m.